Elsinore Middle School

Skip to main content
En Español

LEUSD Announces Administrative Appointments, Spring 2018

LAKE ELSINORE—Three principal appointments were unanimously approved on Thursday, May 10, during a closed session meeting of the Board of Trustees. Appointments were publically announced during the open meeting session as follows:

  • Dawn Hernandez—from Interim Principal to Principal, Luiseño School. Ms. Hernandez has served at Luiseño School since November 13, 2017. Prior to her appointment to Luiseño, she served as Assistant Principal at Rice Canyon Elementary School (ES). She has also served as an AP in a split assignment serving Earl Warren ES and Tuscany Hills ES. Ms. Hernandez holds a B.A. degree in Education from Smith College, and a Master’s degree in Education from California State University, Fullerton. This appointment became effective Friday, May 11, 2018.
  • Jason Wheelock—from Interim Assistant Principal to Assistant Principal, Elsinore Middle School. Mr. Wheelock was previously appointed AP at Elsinore MS on August 8, 2017. He has also served two seasons as a Summer Literacy Camp principal (one of four), and as Administrative Designee for Tuscany Hills ES. Mr. Wheelock holds a B.A. degree in Liberal Studies, and a Master’s degree in Education from National University. The effective date was Friday, May 11, 2018.
  • Manuel “Manny” Valdes will become Principal of William Collier Elementary School, succeeding Principal Dorri Neal, who is retiring at the end of June. Mr. Valdes holds a B.A. degree in Liberal Studies from Cal State Dominguez Hills, and a Master’s degree in Education from National University. Mr. Valdes has extensive teaching, counseling, and administrative experience at both elementary and middle school levels. Most recently, Mr. Valdes served as Principal of Chester W. Morrison Elementary School in the Menifee Union School District. Mr. Valdes’s effective date is July 1, 2018.

In announcing these appointments, Board President Stan Crippen congratulated all three certificated administrators for their demonstrated leadership and continued success.

Published Print